Many library services and hours are adjusted due to COVID-19. Please check the library's website for updates.

Presque Isle Public Library

The bookshop of second chances: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
A woman desperate to turn a new page heads to the Scottish coast and finds herself locked in a battle of wills with an infuriatingly handsome bookseller in this utterly heartwarming debut, perfect for readers of Evvie Drake Starts Over.

Thea Mottram is having a bad month. She's been let go from her office job with no notice--and to make matters even worse, her husband of nearly twenty years has decided to leave her for one of her friends. Bewildered and completely lost, Thea doesn't know what to do. But when she learns that a distant great uncle in Scotland has passed away, leaving her his home and a hefty antique book collection, she decides to leave Sussex for a few weeks. Escaping to a small coastal town where no one knows her seems to be exactly what she needs.

Almost instantly, Thea becomes enamored with the quaint cottage, comforted by its cozy rooms and shaggy, tulip-covered lawn. The locals in nearby Baldochrie are just as warm, quirky, and inviting. The only person she can't seem to win over is bookshop owner Edward Maltravers, to whom she hopes to sell her uncle's antique novel collection. His gruff attitude--fueled by an infamous, long-standing feud with his brother, a local lord--tests Thea's patience. But bickering with Edward proves oddly refreshing and exciting, leading Thea to develop feelings she hasn't felt in a long time. As she follows a thrilling yet terrifying impulse to stay in Scotland indefinitely, Thea realizes that her new life may quickly become just as complicated as the one she was running from.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780593355657
9780593355664
9780593400449
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID967deb53-f485-9f55-b631-2975a99365b6
Grouping Titlebookshop of second chances
Grouping Authorjackie fraser
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2021-06-14 04:56:02AM
Last Indexed2021-06-14 06:08:10AM
Novelist Primary ISBNnone

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorJackie Fraser
author_displayFraser, Jackie
available_at_presqueislePresque Isle Public Library
detailed_location_presqueisleOnline OverDrive Collection
Presque Isle Adult Fiction
display_description"An utterly heartwarming debut novel filled with fresh starts, unexpected love, and Scottish charm, perfect for readers of Evvie Drake Starts Over. Thea Mottram is having a bad month. Her husband of nearly twenty years has just left her for one of her friends, and to top it off, she is let go from her office job--on Valentine's Day, of all days. Bewildered and completely lost, Thea doesn't know what to do. But when she learns that a distant great uncle in Scotland has passed away--leaving her his home and a hefty antique book collection--she decides to leave Sussex for a few weeks. Escaping to a small coastal town where no one knows her seems to be exactly what she needs. Almost instantly, Thea becomes enamored with the quaint cottage, comforted by its cozy rooms and shaggy, tulip-covered lawn. The locals in nearby Baldochrie are just as warm, quirky, and inviting. The only person she can't seem to win over is bookshop owner Edward Maltravers, to whom she hopes to sell her uncle's antique novel collection. His gruff attitude--fueled by an infamous, long-standing feud with his brother, a local Lord--tests Thea's patience. But bickering with Edward proves oddly refreshing and exciting, leading Thea to develop feelings she hasn't felt in a long time. As she follows a thrilling (yet terrifying) impulse to stay in Scotland indefinitely, Thea realizes that her new life may quickly become just as complicated as the one she was running from"-- ǂc Provided by publisher.
format_category_presqueisleAudio Books
Books
eBook
format_presqueisleBook
eAudiobook
eBook
id967deb53-f485-9f55-b631-2975a99365b6
isbn9780593355657
9780593355664
9780593400449
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:ea92fc87-6060-429c-b1f0-98ac48fe98f7-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook5falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
overdrive:ea92fc87-6060-429c-b1f0-98ac48fe98f71Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
overdrive:08edec3d-b0d7-4a53-a296-6f95cc9375e81Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books0falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenChecked Out
overdrive:08edec3d-b0d7-4a53-a296-6f95cc9375e8-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books4falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenChecked Out
ils:.b20940658.i34270565Presque Isle Adult FictionF Fra1falsefalseAvailableMay 28, 2021piafi
ils:.b20940658.i34276154Boulder Junction Adult FictionFIC FRA pbk.1falsefalseOn HoldshelfJun 02, 2021bjafi
itype_presqueisleBOOK - PAPERBACK
last_indexed2021-06-14T11:08:10.267Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_presqueisleF Fra
Online OverDrive
local_time_since_added_presqueisle2 Months
Quarter
Six Months
Year
owning_library_presqueislePresque Isle Public Library
Presque Isle Public Library Online
owning_location_presqueisleOnline OverDrive Collection
Presque Isle Public Library
primary_isbn9780593355657
publishDate2021
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
overdrive:ea92fc87-6060-429c-b1f0-98ac48fe98f7eBookeBookEnglishRandom House Publishing Group2021
overdrive:08edec3d-b0d7-4a53-a296-6f95cc9375e8eAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishPenguin Random House Audio Publishing Group2021
ils:.b20940658BookBooksEnglishBallantine Books, [2021]438 pages ; 21 cm
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_presqueisle
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:ea92fc87-6060-429c-b1f0-98ac48fe98f7-1Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:ea92fc87-6060-429c-b1f0-98ac48fe98f71Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue
overdrive:08edec3d-b0d7-4a53-a296-6f95cc9375e81Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue
overdrive:08edec3d-b0d7-4a53-a296-6f95cc9375e8-1Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b20940658.i34270565On ShelfAvailablefalsetruetruetruefalsetrue99999999
ils:.b20940658.i34276154Checked OutOn Holdshelffalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse9999
subject_facetBooksellers and bookselling -- Fiction
Man-woman relationships -- Fiction
Romance fiction
Scotland -- Fiction
title_displayThe bookshop of second chances : a novel
title_fullThe Bookshop of Second Chances A Novel
The bookshop of second chances : a novel / Jackie Fraser
title_shortThe bookshop of second chances
title_suba novel
topic_facetBooksellers and bookselling
Fiction
Humor (Fiction)
Literature
Man-woman relationships
Romance